//North vs Moxie

North vs Moxie: the cheaper all-in-one, or the drafted deal (2026)

Moxie costs $10, $20 or $32 a month billed annually as of 29 August 2026 ($12, $25 or $40 monthly), and every tier lists proposals, contracts, invoicing and payments alongside a CRM, scheduling and time tracking. Its pricing page does not state its payment-processing fees, so none are quoted here. North is narrower: it drafts the proposal from your call notes with three defended prices, drafts the contract alongside, gives the client one room to accept and sign and pay in, and runs card payment on your own Stripe with nothing taken. If you want the widest set of tools for the least money and are happy to fill the documents in yourself, Moxie is the sensible buy. If the blank proposal is the thing you avoid, North is built for that hour.

Choose Moxie if…

  • You want the most tools for the least money and do not mind that each one is a form you fill in
  • You need scheduling or time tracking in the same subscription as the documents
  • You are on a tight budget and $10 a month is the ceiling, which is a perfectly good reason

Choose North if…

  • You want the proposal written from what the client said, with the price defended, rather than a template with your name in the header
  • You want nothing sent to a client on a schedule you did not press the button on
  • You want a written promise that your client's card payment is never touched by the tool
  • You want the plan that wins the work to be free for as long as you have the account

Moxie pricing, as checked

PlanPriceNotes
Starter$10/mobilled annually; $12 monthly
Pro$20/mobilled annually; $25 monthly
Teams$32/mobilled annually; $40 monthly; up to five team members
Payment feesnot stated on the pricing pagechecked 29 August 2026; do not assume a figure

Moxie figures fetched from its pricing page on 29 August 2026. The page does not state payment-processing fees or client caps on the Starter and Pro tiers, so neither is claimed here in either direction. North, for the same table: everything is free while it is in beta. At launch, Free is $0 forever (unlimited proposals drafted from your notes, contracts with e-signing, the client deal room with your own branding, unlimited invoices sent and tracked and marked paid by hand, reminders drafted for you, full export) and Pro is $39/month (your client pays by card on your own Stripe account, delivery stages, deposits and milestones, retainers, euros and pounds, the money view). Accounts that exist before launch keep $20/month for as long as they exist. North takes no cut of any payment, at any volume, ever; Stripe's own processing fee is Stripe's.

What ten dollars buys

A lot, on paper: Moxie's cheapest tier lists proposals, quotes, contracts, invoicing, payments, a CRM, scheduling and time tracking. That breadth at that price is genuinely good value if what you want is a place to keep everything, and there is no reason to spend more if it does what you need. What it does not do is write anything. The proposal is a document you build; the price is a number you type; the contract is a template you edit. North's free plan gives you the drafting and the contract and the room at no cost, and charges only when money moves.

The part we could not verify

Moxie's pricing page does not say what it charges to process a card payment, and this page will not guess. If you are comparing on cost, ask them before you decide; a processing fee on top of the subscription changes the arithmetic for anyone taking more than a few payments a month. North's answer to the same question is on the record: card payment runs on your own Stripe account, Stripe's ordinary fee applies, and North adds nothing.

Where North is the wrong choice

If you need a booking calendar, a timer, or a CRM with stages, North does not have them and will not soon. If you send the same proposal to the same kind of client every week, a template is faster than a draft you have to read. And if $10 a month is what the business can afford right now, that is the deciding fact and there is no shame in it.

Common questions

Is Moxie cheaper than North?
On the paid tier, yes: Moxie's Starter is $10 a month billed annually against North Pro at $39/month (both checked in August 2026). On the free tier, North: Moxie has no free plan, and North's free plan carries unlimited proposals, contracts, the deal room and unlimited invoices with no card to enter. Whether Moxie charges a processing fee on payments is not stated on its pricing page, so the total cost of taking card payments through it could not be compared.
Does Moxie draft proposals like North does?
Not from your notes. Moxie gives you proposal and quote documents to build and templates to reuse, which is the standard shape in this category. North reads the notes from the call and drafts the scoped, priced proposal with a plain defence of each number, for you to correct and send. If the writing is the part you avoid, that is the difference that matters; if it is not, Moxie's approach is fine.
Which is better for a freelancer on a tight budget?
Start with North's free plan and see whether the drafting is worth anything to you; it costs nothing and everything exports if it is not. If you need scheduling or time tracking as well and can only carry one subscription, Moxie's $10 tier covers more ground than any single competitor at that price.